Wolf Nation with Brenda Peterson and Amaroq Weiss

Laurel Book Store welcomes Brenda Peterson author of Wolf Nation: The Life, Death, and Return of Wild American Wolves and Amaroq Weiss the West Coast Wolf Advocate for the Center for Biological Diverstity to share stories and knowledge about wolves and wolf recovery in Northwest America.

In the tradition of Peter Matthiessen's Wildlife in America or Aldo Leopold, Brenda Peterson tells the 300-year history of wild wolves in America. It is also our own history, seen through our relationship with wolves. The earliest Americans revered them. Settlers zealously exterminated them. Now, scientists, writers, and ordinary citizens are fighting to bring them back to the wild. Peterson, an eloquent voice in the battle for twenty years, makes the powerful case that without wolves, not only will our whole ecology unravel, but we'll lose much of our national soul.

Brenda Peterson is the author of eighteen books, including the novel Duck and Cover, which was a New York Times "Notable Book of the Year," and I Want to Be Left Behind, selected by the Christian Science Monitor among the Top Ten Best Non-Fiction Books of 2010. Her most recent work, Your Life Is a Book, was a monthly Oprah book club selection. Peterson's work has appeared in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, and she has contributed environmental commentary to Seattle NPR stations and on animal and environmental issues for The Huffington Post. She lives in Seattle on the shores of Salish Sea.

Amaroq Weiss has worked in wolf conservation for more than 20 years and is the West Coast Wolf Advocate for the Center for Biological Diversity, a national nonprofit conservation organization with more than 1.3 million members and online activists dedicated to the protection of endangered species and wild places. A biologist and former attorney, she focuses on wolf recovery and protections in Washington, Oregon and California, the northern Rockies and at the federal level. Previously she has worked for the Mexican Wolf Conservation Fund, Defenders of Wildlife and the California Wolf Center on wolf conservation policy, litigation strategy and on-the-ground efforts. Amaroq was a stakeholder/advisor to Oregon and California state wildlife agencies as they developed their state wolf conservation and management plans, and successfully argued the Center for Biological Diversity’s petition to get the wolf listed under California’s endangered species act. She is an annually-invited speaker at the internationally-attended Public Interest Environmental Law Conference, is frequently interviewed by print journalists and for radio programs, and is a contributing author and editor of multiple publications and op-eds. She also appears in two recent documentaries on California’s first known wolf in 87 years, “OR7 – The Journey” and “The OR-7 Expedition.” Amaroq lives in Petaluma, California, with her husband Terry and their two wondrous and bossy Siberian Huskies, Miranda and Taiga.

 

Event date: 
Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 5:00pm
Event address: